Content

Folders

A quick overview about the folders in scoopa, folder-structure recommendations, and available folder actions.


Folder structure explained

As explained in the article "Understanding the Philosophy" we recommand you organize your folders by content-type. But of course you are free to structure your folder as you see fit. There are no restrictions in scoopa considering building a structure.


Folder view

Except for the action-buttons on top, the folder view is the same for admins as well as users.

The folder views can be toggled between the list-view and the grid-view:

list-view.
list-view
grid-view.
grid-view

Folder-actions are accessible in both - list and grid-view.

Folder-actions in list-view.
Folder-actions in list-view
Folder-actions in the grid-view.
Folder-actions in the grid-view

Folder and File-Status is visible in the "Size & State" column. You can trigger a calculation for the size and status of folder by clicking the calculator-icon.

The shared-with colum indicates the users that have access to the folder by showing the users-initials. This is usefull for small recipient-circles where most users are known.

The Notification column indicates wheter notifications are enabled on the folder.

When in grid-view there is only a subset of indicators present and visible. If a folder has notifications turned on the folder is marked with a bell-icon.

Additional indicators

There can be additional labels behind a file or foldername indicating:

  • a featured folder (star icon)

  • if you have downloaded the file already


Access-Control

The new Rights-Management.
The new Rights-Management

Access-Control in scoopa allows for a very granular configurations. You are able to asign the following rights to users and usergroups:

  • read (user can view the folder and its content and also play the preview)

  • download high-res (user can download the high-res version of all assets in the folder)

  • download low-res (user can download the low-res version of all assets in the folder)

  • upload (user can upload to this folder)

  • manage (user can manage the folder and the files within)

You may also mass assign rights with the buttons on the top-right of the matrix.

The new color scheme for the rights-management.
The new color scheme for the rights-management

As you may have noticed in the previous screenshots, the folder tree can now be collapsed to increase the overal visibility and to improve the management of large platforms with many folders.

It is also possible to toggle the whole tree with the new button "toggle collapse".

This feature is available in the "edit-user" and the "edit-usergroup" view.


Folder-Inheritance

The default behaviour in scoopa is full inheritance of all user-rights from the parent folder. This can be overridden in the "Add folder" dialogue. You can also select to inherit the copyright meta-data-field from the parent folder in this dialogue.

Notice

Inhertiance has only a one-time effect. That means once you create a new folder inside a parent folder, all current rights will be inherited. Following changes in the parent folder will not trickle down to the child folders.


Create folder

To create a new folder, select "Add Folder" in the files root or in any existing folder. You are not restricted when choosing a folder name. You can also choose to inherit rights (default: true) and copyright-data (default: false) from the parent folder.

Furthermore you can choose if the new folder should send out notifications. This can be changed at a later point by editing the folder.

Add folder dialogue.
Add folder dialogue

Tip

Disabling notifications can be usefull if you want to prefill your folders before notifiing your users. For example folders that contain a lot of images and should not send out a massive amount of notifications.


Edit folder

You can edit a folder by either clicking the edit-icon in the folder-listing (only visible on hover) or by going to the desired folder and click the "edit"-button.

Once in edit-mode there are two main areas to focus on. Access-Control and General-Settings

Edit folder - access control.
Edit folder - access control

As documented in the Access-Control article you can manage rights for one user or many users at once in this matrix.

Folder edit - General Settings.
Folder edit - General Settings

In General settings you can change the folder name, notification settings and if the folder should be featured on the dashboard or not. You can also add a folder description and a copyright notice with our rich-text-editor.

To better discern folders in grid-view you can provide a folder-icon image. It is also possible to brand a folder with a custom header-image. Learn more about that here.

Hint

You can change the folder name at any time. This has no effect on previously generated links or notification mails.


Delete folder

Deleting folder is a very straightforward process. In order to delete a folder you can press the delete button inside a folder. (You must first edit a user). An alternative way is to select one or more folders in a folder-listing and then press delete.

Delete folder confirmation-dialogue.
Delete folder confirmation-dialogue

Every deletion must be confirmed by entering "DELETE" in the dialogue.


Move folder

You can move folders by pressing the move-button either from within the folder-edit view or by selecting folders in the folder-listing and selecting the move action-button.

Move folder dialogue.
Move folder dialogue

After that you need to select the target folder and proceed. Please note that you cannot move folder onto itself or its children.

Notifications

Please note that moving a folder will not trigger any notifications in the target folder.


Archive & Restore

As you cannot archive folders per se, but rather their contents, archiving & restoring folders is a helper function to do just that. All files in the folder and in subsequent child-folders will be archived or restored.

The process itself is as easy as deleting or moving. You can select folders from a folder-listing and select the action "archive" or "restore". Let's start with archiving:

The archive confirmation dialogue.
The archive confirmation dialogue
Report after archiving.
Report after archiving

After confirming the archive-process, alle suitable assets will be archived immediately, and all non-suitable assets will be scheduled for archiving at the next possible date.

Why can't all files be archived immediately?

Please read our article about How files are counted against included storage to learn more about that.

Restoring folders is a similar process. First you have to select the folders you want to restore in a folder-listing, followed by selecting the time-period for restoring from the "Restore" drop-down menu. You can choose to keep files restored until the end of the current month (ensuring that you won't be billed again next month), for 7 days, 2 weeks, 1 month and 1 year and also forever (permanent restore).

Restore folders from archive drop-down menu.
Restore folders from archive drop-down menu
Confirmation of restore costs.
Confirmation of restore costs

Please be aware that for restoring files or folders you have to confirm that costs according to your subscription-plan will occur.